Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain

NOV 2016

LC/DBM provides landscape contractors with Educational, Imaginative and Practical information about their business, their employees, their machines and their projects.

Issue link: https://landscapecontractor.epubxp.com/i/747321

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 7 of 63

8 LC DBM Show to Show to Show . . . from the Pacific Ocean to the Gulf Coast to the Ohio River Last month we exhibited in, and I had the honor of attending, three trade shows in one week; The Land- scape Expo - Long Beach, the GIE Expo / Hardscape NA in Louisville, and the ASLA in New Orleans. It was a lot of travel (they lost my bags going to Louisville) but it was great to see so much of the industry in such a short time. At all three shows, there was a mostly positive vibe with exhibitors and attendees looking forward to clos- ing out a challenging year on the upside and gearing up for another hard fought year of growth. The first event was in Long Beach. There, the Landscape Expo is mostly a local event, where the product emphasis is on wholesale equipment, plant material and supply, and the largest share of attendees are mu- nicipal, parks, schools and facility maintenance professionals followed by landscape contractors, arbor care professionals, pesticide operators, landscape architects and landscape designers. At the Landscape Expo, attendees are shopping to buy goods, set up onsite demos, secure better supply contracts and learn more about their craft. Attendance there was up more than 30% over the previous year. At the GIE Expo/Hardscape NA, there were about 20,000 attendees and virtually every major (and mi- nor) equipment manufacturer exhibited with both an inside and an outside booth, filling about 2/3 of the Louisville Convention Center and then overflowing onto a huge field filled with the sounds of working lawn mowers, loaders, excavators, tractors and handheld power equipment. The other 1/3 of the exhibit hall was filled with all things "Hardscapes". Pavers, stone, retaining walls, and the equipment used to install, protect, maintain and repair them, were supplemented by other stan- dard installation based goods like lighting, irrigation, pergolas and water features. At GIE, with Louisville being within a six hour drive of about two thirds of the population of the US, there are mostly landscape contractors and distributors as attendees. The distributors are there to meet with their major suppliers, find new manufacturers offering product lines to complement their existing lines and to service the attendees coming from their regions of the country. The landscape contractors who attended GIE were there mostly to learn about their trade and see what's going to be available to improve their business in the years ahead. The largest subset of this group seemed to be the father-son combo, where dad, or grandpa started the business and now the second or third generation is filling the shoes. I talked to a lot of attendees, and although this is not a scientific analysis, it seemed that while maintenance was a huge part of their business, most of the 'sons' (the new generation) were focused on the installation part of the business. Then, we flew to New Orleans for the ASLA . . . Now, I have only been to New Orleans twice, including this trip, and both times it has been either during or within a few days of Halloween. What a crazy place . . . Anyways at ASLA, there wasn't a single piece of equipment, unless you count the fountain or play equip- ment. There, the exhibitors exhibited those things that sit on the landscape after the land has been prepped and leveled. At ASLA, the attendees were either landscape architects or students, hard to say which was more, but they were there to see what would be going into the landscapes of the future. Unlike the other two shows, where attendees were there to see the exhibit hall, at ASLA, they almost had to beg attendees to walk the aisles, offering free drinks, food and fellowship in the form of class reunions, art galleries, portrait taking and even including a marching band roaming the hall. Still the landscape architects are the ones who design the projects that those who attend the other two shows will build and maintain in the years ahead. So what a week it was, crossing the country, exploring virtually the entire landscape industry from the guys who repair the sprinkler heads, to the folks who first installed the project, to the men and women who put the project to paper and all of the manufacturers, distributors and providers of goods and services supplying this great industry. It was great to see so many of you out there, learn about your business and to hear your story. So, as we sit down to celebrate Thanksgiving, it is great to know that we are a part of this wonderful, diverse and chal- lenging industry that has such a huge effect on so many aspects of so many people's lives across the nation. Keep up the great work, have a great holiday season ahead and we'll see you out there . . . God Bless. Find Us Online: @LandscapeComm @landscapeonline @LandscapeOnline.com George Schmok Publisher / Editor-in-Chief gschmok@landscapeonline.com Mike Dahl Editor mdahl@landscapeonline.com Alli Rael Assistant Editor / Education arael@landscapeonline.com Michael Miyamoto Assistant Editor / Economics mmiyamoto@landscapeonline.com Andrew Soto Assistant Editor / Associations asoto@landscapeonline.com Editorial Contributors Contributors: Andy Sykes, Garrett Churchill Inc.; Anthony Bogdanovich, Imagine Lighting Company; A.J. Coleman, McKay Landscape Lighting; Jeff Golota, Lumenilaire; Herman Philhower, Penn Air Group; Mike Geier, LightScape Designs; Steve Parrott, VOLT® Lighting; Rick Bequette, Brilliant Nights; Mike DiPalantino, The Paver Guy; Jon Bowman, Coastal Source; Joe Monello, Monello Landscape Industries; Charbel Zogheib, Universal Stone Imports; Paolo Benedetti, Aquatic Technology Pool and Spa; Tucker Beeninga, Next to Nature Landscape Design Associate Editors Erosion Russ Adsit, FASLA Horticulture Lori Pullman Ornamental Horticulture, Orange Coast College Irrigation Dennis Pittenger Area Environmental Horticulturist, University of California, Riverside Pesticides James A. Bethke Nursery and Floriculture Advisor, University of California Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Graphic Designers Matthew Medeiros mmedeiros@landscapeonline.com Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com Priscilla Brinshot pbrinshot@landscapeonline.com Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Matt Henderson mhenderson@landscapeonline.com Kip Ongstad kongstad@landscapeonline.com Sales Support Liaison Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com Landscape Communications, Inc. Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Danielle Medina dmedina@landscapeonline.com IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales BIlly Deans bdeans@landscapeonline.com Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Statistics Eric Dixon edixon@landscapeonline.com Circulation / Fulfillment Likkien Ralpho lralpho@landscapeonline.com Ana Linares alinares@landscapeonline.com Kosol Chim kchim@landscapeonline.com Contract Fulfillment Coordinator Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com D E S I G N • B U I L D • M A I N T A I N • S U P P L Y Equipping Landscape Professionals for Success w w w.LandscapeOnline.com Volume 19, No. 11 • www.landscapeonline.com Deuteronomy 31:6 … "Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the LORD your God who goes with you . . ." Landscape Contractor Design Build Maintain and/or the publisher is a member of or financially supports the following associations: APA, CLCA, The Library of Congress Association, IAAPA, ASLA, NRPA, National Wildlife Association, IDA, IES, IALD, IA, ISA, IECA, BPA, APLD, National Parks Conservation Association, IRLA, TPI, National Trust for Historic Preservation, LAF/CLASS Fund, American Rivers and the American Institute of Architects. George Schmok, Publisher Commentary

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain - NOV 2016