Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain

JUN 2014

LC/DBM provides landscape contractors with Educational, Imaginative and Practical information about their business, their employees, their machines and their projects.

Issue link: https://landscapecontractor.epubxp.com/i/321297

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 7 of 71

8 LC DBM Landscape Contractor Design Build Maintain and/or the publisher is a member of or financially supports the following associations: APA, CLCA, The Library of Congress Association, IAAPA, ASLA, NRPA, National Wildlife Association, IES, IALD, IA, ISA, IECA, BPA, APLD, National Parks and Conservation Association, IRLA, TPI, National Trust for Historic Preservation, LAF/CLASS Fund, American Rivers and the American Institute of Architects. Publisher/Editor-in-Chief George Schmok gschmok@landscapeonline.com Editor Mike Dahl mdahl@landscapeonline.com Assistant Editor/Education Michelle Medaris mmedaris@landscapeonline.com Assitant Editor/Economic News Kyle Cavaness kcavaness@landscapeonline.com Product Editor Larry Shield lshield@landscapeonline.com Editorial Administrative Assistant Michelle Mabanta mmabanta@landscapeonline.com Editorial Contributors Scott Cohen, Marie NyBlom, The Green Scene; Vic Knight, Knight Strategies; Joe Pavlovicz, JTS Landscaping Co.; Richard Cohen, Richard Cohen Landscape & Construction; Renee Meyer, Renee Meyer Interiors; Laura Monaco, Pavestone; Dean A. Pipito, AQUATICA / Dean Pipito Waterfeatures, LLC Associate Editors Arboriculture/Horticulture Assistant CE Specialist, University of California Riverside Deborah Mathews, PhD Erosion Executive Director, IECA Russ Adsit, FASLA Pesticides Business Manager, Target-Specialty Products Will Harrison Water Resources Program Specialist, Texas A&M University Dotty Woodson, PhD (In Memoriam) David Linstrum Otto Edward Schmok Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Graphic Designer Matthew Medeiros mmedeiros@landscapeonline.com Ad Coordinator Oliver Calonzo ocalonzo@landscapeonline.com Circulation / Fulfillment Edward Cook ecook@landscapeonline.com Ana Linares alinares@landscapeonline.com Likkien Ralpho lralpho@landscapeonline.com IT Department Web / Tech Manager Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com Web/Graphic Assistant Sam Roe sroe@landscapeonline.com Chief Operations Officer C.O.O. Mark O'Halloran moholloran@landscapeonline.com Sales Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Vince Chavira vchavira@landscapeonline.com Matt Henderson mhenderson@landscapeonline.com Kip Ongstad kongstad@landscapeonline.com Banner Ad Sales Ryan Skidmore rskidmore@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales Jared Lutz jlutz@landscapeonline.com Event Productions Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com D E S I G N • B U I L D • M A I N T A I N • S U P P L Y Equipping Landscape Professionals for Success w w w.LandscapeOnline.com Volume 17, No. 6 • www.landscapeonline.com Colossians 3:2 … Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. LC DBM Commentary It's summertime! Time to enjoy the great weather, head to the beach, the river, the lake or just jump in the pool! It's time for men to do what we have been doing for ages . . . Fire up the Q and throw on the protein! The irony for you, of course, is that during these summer months most of you are building those pools, ponds or streams and setting in place the new Q's for someone else . . . Sounds sad. That is, if it didn't mean that the green was also flowing into your own back pocket$. Yep, it's summer and to honor your work, in this issue you will find some pretty cool examples of what to do in some else's back yard. To pick the articles, we waded through dozens of submittals and found ourselves breaking the tenth commandment over and over . . . You know, the one about coveting thy neighbors house . . . Well there are some fantastic projects out there and we did our best to pick a few examples that you might be able to use in your designs and to help you sell these custom projects. One of the first things we noticed was that vir- tually every one of the projects featured water meant for full body immersion. So if you haven't taken a course in pool, pond or stream building, you will either be giving a large chunk of the proj- ect to a sub or you won't be given the chance to give it to anyone. In most of these projects the plant materials are complementary to the hardscape and features. Shaping the land and providing areas to enjoy the scenery are as important as actually provid- ing the scenery. Almost every project, except for the smallest of yards, had multiple seating areas. (Maybe it's because they have kids . . .) In the projects we picked, these areas of enjoyment are coordinated but individual. The trick is creating an environment that allows the client to safely and economically travel between these areas, and feel as if they have entered a familiar but unique part of their property when they arrive. We did review many projects that went out of their way to individualize these spaces. In some cases we saw up to seven or eight different paving patterns or stones, mixed and unmatched furni- ture, classic and contemporary spaces sitting side by side, with absolute color and texture variances. We didn't really like those ones too much . . . I don't want to conjure up a vision of graffiti and Yes . . . The client is always right, but the proj- ects we picked carried elements throughout the site, with just subtle transitions. These transitions often lead to exciting new views and new feelings of place, while still holding on to some sense of familiarity. I know everyone has their own tastes, but when the nine of us got together to pick these articles, elegant, sophisticated and relaxing where all terms that brought us to these projects. So sit back, relax by the pool in your own back- yard, shake off the dust of the day's work, enjoy this June issue of LC/DBM and think of the peo- ple who are and will be enjoying the fruits of your labor this summer . . . God Bless. . . Summertime, and the Living is Easy George Schmok, Publisher DBM LC Find Us Online: @LandscapeComm @landscapeonline @LandscapeOnline.com 008-009.indd 8 5/23/14 4:36 PM

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain - JUN 2014