Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain

MAR 2014

LC/DBM provides landscape contractors with Educational, Imaginative and Practical information about their business, their employees, their machines and their projects.

Issue link: https://landscapecontractor.epubxp.com/i/274585

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 7 of 87

8 LC DBM Landscape Contractor Design Build Maintain and/or the publisher is a member of or financially supports the following associations: APA, CLCA, The Library of Congress Association, IAAPA, ASLA, NRPA, National Wildlife Association, IES, IALD, IA, ISA, IECA, BPA, APLD, National Parks and Conservation Association, IRLA, TPI, National Trust for Historic Preservation, LAF/CLASS Fund, American Rivers and the American Institute of Architects. Publisher/Editor-in-Chief George Schmok gschmok@landscapeonline.com Editor Mike Dahl mdahl@landscapeonline.com Assistant Editor/Education Michelle Medaris mmedaris@landscapeonline.com Assitant Editor/Economic News Kyle Cavaness kcavaness@landscapeonline.com Product Editor Larry Shield lshield@landscapeonline.com Editorial Administrative Assistant Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Editorial Contributors John August, GeckoStone®; Vanessa Angell, Techo-Bloc; Mark Sosnowitz, Mark Eliot Design, LLC; Darren Ryder, Ryder Landscaping Design; Brenda Bredahl, Versa-Lok; Daniel Wilson, MESM, Wilson Environmental Contracting, Inc.; Daniel J. Dahlkemper, LA, ASLA, Dahlkamper Landscape; H. Scott Berry Jr., Evergreen Hardscaping; Nancy Marshall, Smalls Landscaping; John Hayden, JJ Hayden Inc.; Amanda Driscoll, ThinkGreen LLC; Steve Mitchell, Natures Elite Landscaping; Carol Heffernan, Heffernan Landscape Design; Kimberly Charles, Stone Farm; Christian Basnight, Basnight Land & Lawn, Inc.; Jay Oosterhouse, Porous Pave, Inc.; Sam Rice, CPP, BB Mofic, LLC-Landscape Design & Contracting; David Hasness, P.E., Pavestone Associate Editors Arboriculture/Horticulture Assistant CE Specialist, University of California Riverside Deborah Mathews, PhD Erosion Executive Director, IECA Russ Adsit, FASLA Pesticides Business Manager, Target-Specialty Products Will Harrison Water Resources Program Specialist, Texas A&M University Dotty Woodson, PhD (In Memoriam) David Linstrum "Otto" Edward Schmok Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Graphic Designer Matthew Medeiros mmedeiros@landscapeonline.com Ad Coordinator Oliver Calonzo ocalonzo@landscapeonline.com Circulation / Fulfillment Edward Cook ecook@landscapeonline.com Ana Linares alinares@landscapeonline.com Likkien Ralpho lralpho@landscapeonline.com IT Department Web / Tech Manager Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com Chief Operations Officer C.O.O. Mark O'Halloran moholloran@landscapeonline.com Sales Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Vince Chavira vchavira@landscapeonline.com Matt Henderson mhenderson@landscapeonline.com Kip Ongstad kongstad@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales Jared Lutz jlutz@landscapeonline.com Online Advertising Sales Tim Obrero tobrero@landscapeonline.com D E S I G N • B U I L D • M A I N T A I N • S U P P L Y Equipping Landscape Professionals for Success w w w.LandscapeOnline.com Volume 17, No. 3 • www.landscapeonline.com 2 Corinthians 5:17 … If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come! LC DBM Commentary Wow . . . It's spring of 2014. Of course I'm writing this in February, but you're reading it in March and, yep, it's spring of 2014, LC/DBM is in its 17th year of publication and Landscape Communications (LCI) is now in its 30th year of reaching landscape profes - sionals across the country. As I write this, it is just beginning to rain, for what is predicted to be a four to five day storm out here in severely drought stricken California, but that was so last week . . . It just goes to show you how things change. Sometimes change is good, like California getting some rain. . . And sometimes it is not so good, like losing loved ones to time, as I just lost my father. He was 99, so no complaints, but when you reflect on what change occurs in a 99 yearlong life, it definitely gives one pause . . . People always ask me how it was that LCI began back in 1985, and how I am related to the land - scape industry. Well it goes back to my roots. Even my name . . . George . . . The root of which is geo . . . land. But my real passion for landscape, and for the land, comes from my father. His story has some real roots, roots in time that have seen tremendous change. Born in Nuedorf, Saskatchewan, a town that has stayed at about 350 residents for these past 99 years, fun, adventure and a little risk were always Dad's mantra . . . And most of his adventures were outside the confines of a building . . . When he was in his twenties, the Great Depres - sion hit, but with a bit of business school and a stiff upper lip, he managed through. That was when he was collecting oil barrels in remote communities in northern British Columbia. Peace River, Tupper, places that today show up on Google maps with no real downtown, just a general vicinity . . . He would be traveling the back roads in an old truck, no power steering, no power brakes, no radio . . . Sometimes the barrels were easy, other times guys would hide them, or hide themselves not wanting to pay the bill, but dad was relentless in getting the job done . . . And remember, in those days, in those places, everyone had a gun . . . Up there he helped his dad, who was working to help Europeans flee - ing Hitler. That was Tupper, about 600 miles north of the border, where they literally carved out a sec - tion of the woods and built a Czechoslovakian farm- ing community. Hunting, fishing, and traveling the backcountry . . . Those are romantic notions today, real endeavors then. How many of us have ever shot a deer at 200 yards with iron sights, down a hill and across a river, or shot an eagle . . . with a bolt action 22 . . . with no scope, while the eagle was flying away ? As we grew up, Dad would take us camping quite a bit and never passed up an opportunity to catch another fish, or take a trail up the mountain. There wasn't a cave he wouldn't explore, a ledge he wouldn't look over, a mountain he wouldn't want to crest . . . Sunlight was his friend . . . And when age be - gan to take away the rugged outdoors, golf brought him back to the landscape. He would only walk the course well into his eighties. Even at the end of his playing time, as macular degeneration was taking away his central eyesight, golf got him outside, in the landscape for hours at a time. Dad was the guy who returned the dime when the cashier gave him too much change. He was the guy who would pull over and help someone fix a tire on the side of the road. He was also the kind of guy who would fight city hall if it needed to be fought. It wouldn't matter what the burden, if it was wrong and needed to be set right. If he was the one who could do it, then he was the one who would do it . . . He was my hero and we can only hope to live up to those standards . . . Maybe that's why this column sometimes has so much passion and fire. Yep, Dad was a great guy and had a full and won - derful life . . . During his years, Dad witnessed the conversion from horse drawn carriages to motorized trans - portation, the complete evolution of the automo- bile, almost the entire history of manned flight, the renaissance of music from classic to the big bands, jazz, Elvis, the Beatles, Rock and Roll, the cultural revolution of the 60s and 70s, space travel and the computerization of the world. And he was always contemplating what was next . . . And his influence has guided LCI for the past 30 years. You see, given a chance, who would rather be sitting at a desk than hiking through a park? Okay, maybe if you're from NYC, concrete is your friend, but even you have Central Park. Back when dad was a kid, everything was a park, or at least it was open terrain, and ev - eryone grew their own vegetables and raised their own chickens. Can we go back to those times? Should we try? The answer of course is yes . . and no . . . But now you know why I am always writing about the blight of density, the need for distance and the love of land - scape. Is there change in the wind? I sure hope so. What will be next? Who knows . . . But what I do know is that the future is bright and challenging. In 30 years of LCI, things have most definitely changed and more often than not, for the better. What do the next 30 years hold for the landscape professions? I don't know, but I do look forward to lacing up the boots and hitting the trail . . . God bless . . . Dad Gave Me the Passion for Landscape George Schmok, Publisher DBM LC 006-009.indd 8 2/28/14 6:03 PM

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain - MAR 2014