Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain

DEC 2018

LC/DBM provides landscape contractors with Educational, Imaginative and Practical information about their business, their employees, their machines and their projects.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 21 of 55

Left The Irrigation Foundation's Excellence in Education Award recognizes an outstanding instructor in the industry. The 2018 award recipient is Franklin Gaudi, EdD, CID, CIC, CAIS, CCA, of Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo. Gaudi teaches courses in irrigation wa- ter management, on-farm irrigation systems, landscape irrigation, AutoCAD and careers in agriculture. He is also a project manager for the Irrigation Training and Research Center and teaches many of its irrigation short courses. Through research and projects at the ITRC, he is able to bring experience with real-world problems and solutions into the classroom. 22 LC DBM 2018 Association Wrap-Up Association of Professional Landscape Designers (continued) Left APLD awarded the coveted Landscape Designer of the Year title to Margie Grace, APLD of Grace Design Associates, Inc., Santa Barbara, Calif. for a residential project in Montecito, Calif. named "Sycamore Canyon." The designer embraced the challenges of the once dreary and uninviting site. The front yard was dominated by asphalt; and the backyard was comprised of a huge expanse of drought-stricken lawn and a patchwork of hardscape materials. Taking inspiration from the world-renowned gardens of nearby Lotusland – located right across the street from the site – Grace and her team developed a collection of gardens from whimsical to sublime. Where once there was asphalt and an unsustainably thirsty lawn, a waterwise, fire-smart mini-Lotusland thrives. Left APLD's Award for Leadership in Landscape Sustainability recognizes individuals and organizations that have demonstrated a commitment to environmental sustainability through outstanding leadership, advocacy, projects, initiatives, writing, and /or education, resulting in benefits to both nature and the practice of landscape design. The association named Cheryl Buckwalter of Landscape Liaisons in Cool, Calif. its 2018 awardee. The IA is a membership based organization for irrigation equip- ment and system manufacturers, dealers, distributors, designers, consultants, contractors and end users. It is dedicated to promoting efficient irrigation technologies, products and services. Irrigation Association Through research, technology, and educa- tion, the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) promotes the professional practice of ar - boriculture and fosters a greater worldwide awareness of the benefits of trees. International Society of Arboriculture Left Jim Klauzer is the recipient of the 2018 Industry Achievement Award, the IA's highest honor, which recognizes an individual whose career demonstrates outstanding contributions to the advancement of the irrigation industry and its products and programs. Klauzer is a sales agronomist with Clearwater Supply in Ontario, Oregon, where he focuses on selling and designing efficient drip irrigation systems. He has been instrumental in driving a significant increase in the use of efficient irrigation technology in the entire Pacific Northwest region. IES is the international leader in lighting education, standards, publications and professional development. The Illuminating Engineering Society Left Lance Bennett assumed the office of president of the as- sociation, succeeding Cheryl English. Bennett has been in the lighting industry for over 30 years, and has been with Eaton's Lighting Business for over 24 years. His previous global experi- ence includes opening the first international office for a large, U.S. based, multinational lighting controls company. Bennett is also a member the International Association of Lighting Industry Resource Council, and he serves on the Board of the International Landscape Lighting Institute. Above Pictured: Jim Ingram, Bartlett Tree Experts; Lauren Lanphear, Awards Committee Chair; A. James Downer, award recipient; Paul Ries, ISA President (2017-2018) ISA recognized nine recipients for the 2018 ISA Awards of Distinction which honor recipients for their contributions to the advancement of the arbo- riculture industry. The Awards of Distinction, sponsored by Bartlett Tree Experts, were presented during the opening ceremony on Sunday, August 5 at ISA's Annual International Conference in Columbus, Ohio. ISA also recognized five industry professionals, Nate Faris, Linden Lampman, Bob Redman, Frances Reidy and Angela Margarita Villademoros, as the 2018 ISA True Professionals of Arboriculture. These men and women were selected for influencing the arboriculture industry through innovative community projects, consumer education, and professional development. Right At the 2018 International Tree Climbing Championship, the winners were James Kilpat- rick (New Zealand) and Krista Strating (right, Ontario, Canada). To view more about Associations, including news, events and photos visit a search the name of the assocation as the keyword.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain - DEC 2018