Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain

NOV 2018

LC/DBM provides landscape contractors with Educational, Imaginative and Practical information about their business, their employees, their machines and their projects.

Issue link: https://landscapecontractor.epubxp.com/i/1045856

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 55

6 LC DBM George Schmok Publisher / Editor-in-Chief gschmok@landscapeonline.com Mike Dahl Editor mdahl@landscapeonline.com Academia Editor Greg Frank gfrank@landscapeonline.com National Associations Editor Chanté McKowan cmckown@landscapeonline.com Regional Associations Editor Allie Lapporte alapporte@landscapeonline.com Editorial Contributors Hunter Booth, Booth Design Group; Ashley Olmsted, Moss Landscaping; Robert Davie, Robert Davie & Associates Landscaping; Chuck Evans, Illuminated Concepts, Inc.; Jon McCafferty, Kichler; Elena Colombo, Fire Features; Amanda Kirby, Ortal; A.J. Coleman, McKay Landscape Lighting; Sean O'Keefe, Communications and Strategy Associate Editors Horticulture & Turf Mark Sosnowitz MG, GCSAA Irrigation Dennis Pittenger Area Environmental Horticulturist, University of California, Riverside Pesticides James A. Bethke Nursery and Floriculture Advisor, University of California Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x122 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Jim McGehee jmcgehee@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com Vince Chavira vchavira@landscapeonline.com National Accounts Digital Sales Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Marketing / Sales Assistant Sergio Lopez slopez@landscapeonline.com Landscape Communications, Inc. Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Data Management Francisco Alvarez Grace Bennett David Ibriham Ana Linares Chase Reed Calvin Scott Amy Timar Contract Fulfillment Coordinator/Jr. Graphic Designer Jeremy Victor jvictor@landscapeonline.com Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com Volume 21, No. 11 • www.landscapeonline.com Romans 5:1 … Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ . . . Is it That Time of Year Already? George Schmok, Publisher LC DBMS Find Us Online: @LandscapeCDM @LCDBMMagazine @Landscape Contract / Design, Build, Maintain • American Society of Landscape Architects • National Recreation and Parks Association • International Dark Sky Association • International Association of Lighting Designers • Irrigation Association • Association of Professional Landscape Designers • National Parks Conservation Association • Turf Producers International • National Trust for Historic Preservation • International Erosion Control Association • International Society of Arboriculture • Landscape Architecture Foundation • CLASS Fund • National Wildlife Federation • Sierra Club • Arbor Day Foundation • Smithsonian • The Nature Conservancy Happy Thanksgiving! Man . . . It's hard to believe that it's already Thanksgiving. Ok . . . That's because I'm writing this with a week still to go in October, and October is crazy busy for us at LCI. On October 10th and 11th, we put on the Landscape Expo in Long Beach and hosted about 3,500 of our closest friends and business associates in the landscape industry to a great 2-day event. Then we turned around and went to two of the largest trade shows in the industry, GIE/HNA and the ASLA Conference in Philly; all the while putting our regular issues to print and gearing up for 2019 (we're already halfway finished with the January issue). Now we're sifting through a ton of business cards and contacts, adding some finishing touches to the ALL NEW LA Details and Tools & Equipment Product Search Engines and enhancing the Product Request and Subscriber Center online, not to mention that Halloween is right around the corner, the election is looming large and people are going crazy everywhere . . . So it's hard to imagine that, by the time you read this, most of the country (including us) will be resting with family and friends and enjoying the fruits of harvest time. Well . . . That's what Thanksgiving is all about . . . Looking back at the harvest of 2018 and enjoying its bounty. Hopefully, you have a lot to be thankful for. Forcing myself to stop and contemplate . . . I know I have a lot to be thankful for. From a personal level, the kids are busy, everyone is healthy, the boat is fully operational and life is good. Professionally, this has been a year of growth and accomplishment. It has been a good year in the building industry, and almost everyone we speak to is having a solid, if not phenomenal, year. For us, we've launched the LA Details and Tools and Equipment Search engines (Find it @landscapeonline.com), have finally settled into our new building, and everything is trending upwards. So . . . For you . . . Hopefully, you are reading this in a moment where you can reflect back on what was 2018 and smile. It's been a busy year in the business and for the country. We work in a great industry, in a great nation at one of the most interesting times in history. There's a lot to be thankful for . . . Happy Thanksgiving! God Bless . . . Landscape Contractor Design Build Maintain and/or the publisher is a member of or financially supports the following associations:

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain - NOV 2018