Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain

OCT 2018

LC/DBM provides landscape contractors with Educational, Imaginative and Practical information about their business, their employees, their machines and their projects.

Issue link: https://landscapecontractor.epubxp.com/i/1035782

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 9 of 103

10 LCDBM George Schmok Publisher / Editor-in-Chief gschmok@landscapeonline.com Mike Dahl Editor mdahl@landscapeonline.com Academia Editor Greg Frank gfrank@landscapeonline.com National Associations Editor Chanté McKowan cmckown@landscapeonline.com Regional Associations Editor Allie Lapporte alapporte@landscapeonline.com Editorial Contributors Rosalie Taormino, Brian Hartwyk, TDH Landscaping; Sean Mairet, Andrew Kahler, John Deere; Jack Herr, ATI Corporation; Carroll Bassett, BMS & Ezebreak LLC; Rick Zettler, Z- Comm LLC; Fred Deats, A.M. Leonard; Karen R. Nobbe Stephens, Keystone Hardscapes; Kayla Gomes, SeeHerWork; Mike Riddle, Husqvarna; Cindy Code, Project Evergreen; Natalie Fry, University of Nevada, Reno; Reba Miller, Interlocking Concrete Pavement Institute Associate Editors Horticulture & Turf Mark Sosnowitz MG, GCSAA Irrigation Dennis Pittenger Area Environmental Horticulturist, University of California, Riverside Pesticides James A. Bethke Nursery and Floriculture Advisor, University of California Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com Graphic Designer Jeremy Victor jvictor@landscapeonline.com Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x122 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Jim McGehee jmcgehee@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com Vince Chavira vchavira@landscapeonline.com National Accounts Digital Sales Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Marketing / Sales Assistant Sergio Lopez slopez@landscapeonline.com Landscape Communications, Inc. Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Data Management Francisco Alvarez Grace Bennett David Ibriham Ana Linares Chase Reed Calvin Scott Amy Timar Oscar Villela Alex McBratney Contract Fulfillment Coordinator/Jr. Graphic Designer Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com Volume 21, No. 10 • www.landscapeonline.com 1 Peter 4:8 … Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. Landscape Contractor Design Build Maintain and/or the publisher is a member of or financially supports the following associations: Be Cool To Your Tools . . . George Schmok, Publisher LC DBMS Find Us Online: @LandscapeCDM @LCDBMMagazine @Landscape Contract / Design, Build, Maintain • American Society of Landscape Architects • National Recreation and Parks Association • International Dark Sky Association • International Association of Lighting Designers • Irrigation Association • Association of Professional Landscape Designers • National Parks Conservation Association • Turf Producers International • National Trust for Historic Preservation • International Erosion Control Association • International Society of Arboriculture • Landscape Architecture Foundation • CLASS Fund • National Wildlife Federation • Sierra Club • Arbor Day Foundation • Smithsonian • The Nature Conservancy Remember . . while being cool to your tools, it's important to not fool around with the most important tool in your arsenal . . . Safety first keeps the cool from being a fool! Welcome to LC/DBM's GIE/HNA show issue. The GIE show is not only one of the largest trade shows in the nation, but it is also a great place to fool around with cool tools. Where else can you actually get a chance to turn the ignition key and fire up a piece of equipment with the ability to literally mow down a mountain? And if you're more into mowing down grass than mountains, there are just as many opportunities to hop on a zero turn and test your driving skills. But, no matter how cool that new piece of equipment is, the minute it becomes yours, it changes from being cool to being a tool, and while tools can be cool, a tool that breaks down is the most uncool tool of all. As the year winds down for landscape professionals, especially across the sections of the country that freeze, now is a great time to spend a minute and assess your equipment maintenance. With the economy doing so well and with labor so hard to find, it is too easy to overlook the needs of the tools you rely on to get the job done. Do you have a policy of cleaning your mower every day when it returns to the yard? Do you keep a log of hours on your diesels and follow the maintenance guidelines recommended by the manufacturers? Well, I can tell you that those landscape companies you look up to and envy are ones that do. I have a friend in the industry who regularly gets 200-300,000 miles out of his work trucks, and since he factors in a new paint job every 5 or 6 years, his fleet not only runs well, but it looks good too. Equipment is expensive to buy, but it is even more expensive to repair, or worse yet, to have to wait for that piece of equipment to be repaired. So as you head into the cooler months of the year, don't be a fool . . . spend a minute to be cool to your tools. You'll be glad you did . . . God Bless

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain - OCT 2018