Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain

SEP 2018

LC/DBM provides landscape contractors with Educational, Imaginative and Practical information about their business, their employees, their machines and their projects.

Issue link: https://landscapecontractor.epubxp.com/i/1024607

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 55

6 LC DBM George Schmok Publisher / Editor-in-Chief gschmok@landscapeonline.com Mike Dahl Editor mdahl@landscapeonline.com Academia Editor Greg Frank gfrank@landscapeonline.com National Associations Editor Chanté McKowan cmckown@landscapeonline.com Regional Associations Editor Allie Lapporte alapporte@landscapeonline.com Editorial Contributors Anthony DeFranco, DeFranco Landscaping; Robert L. Green, Ph.D., Plant Science Dept., Cal Poly Pomona; Sam Krochman, 191 Above; Greg Zoll, Landscape Dynamics; Greg Hurley, One Pass Water Blade; Robert Garcia, Catchy Inc.; Jessica Reber, Harper Industries Inc.; Brian Campedelli, Pioneer Landscapes, Inc.; Xinjian Shi, Stanford University; Chris Vostman, Toro; Steve Wahls, IBBZ Inc. Associate Editors Horticulture & Turf Mark Sosnowitz MG, GCSAA Irrigation Dennis Pittenger Area Environmental Horticulturist, University of California, Riverside Pesticides James A. Bethke Nursery and Floriculture Advisor, University of California Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com Graphic Designer Jeremy Victor jvictor@landscapeonline.com Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x122 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Jim McGehee jmcgehee@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com Vince Chavira vchavira@landscapeonline.com National Accounts Digital Sales Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Marketing / Sales Assistant Sergio Lopez slopez@landscapeonline.com Landscape Communications, Inc. Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Data Management Francisco Alvarez Grace Bennett David Ibriham Ana Linares Chase Reed Calvin Scott Amy Timar Oscar Villela Alex McBratney Contract Fulfillment Coordinator/Jr. Graphic Designer Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com Volume 21, No. 09 • www.landscapeonline.com Matthew 4:19 … And He said to them, "Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men." Landscape Contractor Design Build Maintain and/or the publisher is a member of or financially supports the following associations: It's A Family Affair . . . George Schmok, Publisher LC DBMS Find Us Online: @LandscapeCDM @LCDBMMagazine @Landscape Contract / Design, Build, Maintain • American Society of Landscape Architects • National Recreation and Parks Association • International Dark Sky Association • International Association of Lighting Designers • Irrigation Association • Association of Professional Landscape Designers • National Parks Conservation Association • Turf Producers International • National Trust for Historic Preservation • International Erosion Control Association • International Society of Arboriculture • Landscape Architecture Foundation • CLASS Fund • National Wildlife Federation • Sierra Club • Arbor Day Foundation • Smithsonian • The Nature Conservancy Another great thing about summer is that you get to go fishing! In SoCal the Dorado were plentiful, lots of fun to do battle with and perfect for the family bar- b-que as well! So . . . Summer is officially over and hopefully yours was one to remember. With the economy growing steadily and construction leading the way, your summer should have been both fun and profitable. One of the best things about summer is that it's a time when the kids are out of school, and for landscape families, that often means a time when the 'yutes' get a chance to wear dad's shoes. It's always great to see landscape business owners who are either bringing their kids into the business or who are actually the kids that have been brought in and are now leading the team. I know business owners are coming under attack these days with so many calls to raise corporate taxes or increase the minimum wage by those who think a free lunch is somehow actually free. That's why it's such a great thing to see, all across the country, that this profession is one where hard work is met with great reward. One of those rewards is that this is a business that you can actually pass down to the next generation. It's true that landscaping isn't for everyone and not everyone in landscape has that kid who wants to pick up the reigns. But it is truly one of the great professions where the entrepreneur can build a business around family, work in the great outdoors, and build and maintain things that can last for generations. So, now that summer is over and the kids are back at school, whether it's K-1 or State U, take a moment and pat yourself on the back, because you are part of one of the greatest industries in the nation, and whether they know it or not, your family is all the better for it! God Bless!

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain - SEP 2018