Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain

JUL 2018

LC/DBM provides landscape contractors with Educational, Imaginative and Practical information about their business, their employees, their machines and their projects.

Issue link: https://landscapecontractor.epubxp.com/i/1004129

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 55

6 LC DBM George Schmok Publisher / Editor-in-Chief gschmok@landscapeonline.com Mike Dahl Editor mdahl@landscapeonline.com Assistant Editors Greg Frank- Education gfrank@landscapeonline.com Chante' McKowan cmckown@landscapeonline.com Editorial Contributors Joe Raboine, Belgard; Danny Smith, Park West Companies; David Katz, Land of Elite; Jeff Ingrassia, FX Design Team; Shannon Knaub, Diamond Spas; Lee Fredericks, Rainbow Treecare Scientific Advancements; Greg Mash, Bradford Products Associate Editors Horticulture & Turf Mark Sosnowitz MG, GCSAA Irrigation Dennis Pittenger Area Environmental Horticulturist, University of California, Riverside Pesticides James A. Bethke Nursery and Floriculture Advisor, University of California Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Jason Seaberg jseaberg@landscapeonline.com Jim McGehee jmcgehee@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com National Accounts Digital Sales Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Marketing / Sales Assistant Samantha Flores sflores@landscapeonline.com Landscape Communications, Inc. Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Data Management Francisco Alvarez Grace Bennett David Ibriham Ana Linares Chase Reed Calvin Scott Amy Timar Oscar Villela Alex McBratney Contract Fulfillment Coordinator/Jr. Graphic Designer Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com Volume 21, No. 07 • www.landscapeonline.com Ephesians 3:12 … In him and through faith in him we may approach God with freedom and confidence. Landscape Contractor Design Build Maintain and/or the publisher is a member of or financially supports the following associations: American Planning Association • California Landscape Contractors Association • International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions • American Society of Landscape Architects • National Recreation and Parks Association • International Dark Sky Association• International Association of Lighting Designers • Irrigation Association • Association of Professional Landscape Designers • National Parks Conservation Association • Turf Producers International • National Trust for Historic Preservation • Illuminating Engineering Society • International Erosion Control Association • International Society of Arboriculture• Landscape Architecture Foundation • CLASS Fund • National Wildlife Federation • Sierra Club • Arbor Day Foundation • Smithsonian • The Nature Conservancy Aloha . . . George Schmok, Publisher LC DBMS Ho'omoe Wai Kahi Ke Kao'o (Hawiian saying meaning "Let Us Travel Together Like Water Flowing In One Direction") Just spent an awesome week in Maui, where water is on everyone's mind, but certainly not the same way it is in Cali or throughout the South. For such a small island and with so many tourists and hotels, you'd think they might be concerned about their supply of fresh water. After all, there are no dams or lakes (except on the many golf courses) and the longest "river" is only a handful of miles long . . . We stayed at the Westin at Kaanapali where my good and terribly missed old friend, Frank Manwarren, spent months and months building 5 swimming pools connected by what was at the time (some 30 years ago) one of the largest Rock and Waterscape systems in the world. I remember Frank talking about the painstaking effort they took to make the concrete outcroppings as realistic as possible, taking castings of rock structures from across the globe and joining them, in some cases with toothbrushes, to add a level of detail that today is still considered state-of-the-art. Today, these kinds of manufactured rock and water structures are found everywhere, from hotels to zoos and amusement parks, shopping malls, entryway monuments and even residential backyard pools, complete with slides and grottos. But only a few short years ago, this was cutting edge, pioneered by men like Manwarren, Ed Lewis, Julian George, Lance Friez, Bob Morris . . . Only a couple of which are still with us today. So, as summer heats up, depending on where you are throughout the mainland, water is going to be on your mind. Some of you will have too much, some will have it at their disposal and some will be doing everything necessary to preserve that last drop. But whether it's used as a playground, amenity, tool or quencher of thirst, water in the landscape is and always will be a central and enduring element . . . So please . . . Use it creatively, use it reverently and especially for those of us in the driest parts of the country, use it wisely . . . God Bless . . . Find Us Online: @LandscapeCDM @LCDBMMagazine @Landscape Contract / Design, Build, Maintain

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain - JUL 2018