Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain

FEB 2018

LC/DBM provides landscape contractors with Educational, Imaginative and Practical information about their business, their employees, their machines and their projects.

Issue link: http://landscapecontractor.epubxp.com/i/937992

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 55

6 LC DBM George Schmok Publisher / Editor-in-Chief gschmok@landscapeonline.com Mike Dahl Editor mdahl@landscapeonline.com Alli Rael Assistant Editor / Education arael@landscapeonline.com Assistant Editors Amy Wells awells@landscapeonline.com Breanna Belken bbelken@landscapeonline.com Greg Frank gfrank@landscapeonline.com Editorial Contributors Erik Tabor, Tabor Landscaping & Garden Center; James Spindler, Sarah Spatola, Ecologel Solutions; Melissa Davidson, Ironclad Marketing; Scott Covelli, Epic Creative; Douglas Kent, Douglas Kent and Associates; Brad Terrell, A Cut Above Landscape Maintenance; Gregory Bori, Groundtek; Butch Mogavero, Boulder Designs and Border Magic Associate Editors Horticulture Lori Pullman Ornamental Horticulture, Orange Coast College Irrigation Dennis Pittenger Area Environmental Horticulturist, University of California, Riverside Pesticides James A. Bethke Nursery and Floriculture Advisor, University of California Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Matt Henderson mhenderson@landscapeonline.com Jason Seaberg jseaberg@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com National Accounts Digital Sales Vince Chavira vchavira@landscapeonline.com Landscape Communications, Inc. Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Circulation/Fulfillment Francisco Alvarez Grace Bennett David Ibriham Ana Linares Chase Reed Calvin Scott Contract Fulfillment Coordinator/Jr. Graphic Designer Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com Volume 21, No. 02 • www.landscapeonline.com Psalm 91:14 … "Because he loves me," says the LORD, "I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name." Landscape Contractor Design Build Maintain and/or the publisher is a member of or financially supports the following associations: American Planning Association • California Landscape Contractors Association • International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions • American Society of Landscape Architects • National Recreation and Parks Association • International Dark Sky Association• International Association of Lighting Designers • Irrigation Association • Association of Professional Landscape Designers • National Parks Conservation Association • Turf Producers International • National Trust for Historic Preservation • Illuminating Engineering Society • International Erosion Control Association • International Society of Arboriculture• Landscape Architecture Foundation • CLASS Fund • National Wildlife Federation • Sierra Club • Arbor Day Foundation • Smithsonian • The Nature Conservancy A Nation of Builders . . . George Schmok, Publisher LC DBMS Above Large infra- structure projects like this Arizona interstate exchange featured on the January Cover of Landscape Architect and Specifier News are not for everyone, but opportunity is going to present itself in the very near future, so now is a good time to brush up on the ins and outs of public works. In listening to the State- of-the-Union address—and regardless of how you feel about Trump or how you feel about those who wouldn't even stand up to applaud a 12-year-old boy who decorated graves of veterans with American Flags— there was one bipartisan moment that bodes well for landscape contractors across the nation. That was when both sides stood up and applauded as Trump mentioned his plan to invest in infrastructure. Back in 1991 when Congress passed the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act (ISTEA), followed by several other 'TEA' legislations, it helped take the United States out of the '90-'91 recession and ushered in what is called "the longest period of growth in American history," which was only briefly interrupted by the dot.com bubble and 9/11 in 2001, and basically lasted until 2008. Again . . . Regardless of how you feel about the current administration, one thing is pretty well undeniable . . . Business and construction are solidly into positive territory. Now, with both parties eager to begin building or rebuilding infrastructure, there is good reason to be even more excited about the immediate future of the landscape industry as well. That said, if you are a smaller shop, you'll need to choose whether you want to be a part of the infrastructure rebuild or not. There will probably be plenty of peripheral projects, but to get into transportation or larger municipal projects, now would be a great time to scout out seminars and workshops designed to deal with these markets and start to shape your company to deal with these kind of projects. Infrastructure isn't for everyone, but with both political parties hot on the issue, there is definitely opportunity coming down the road . . . Go get 'em and God Bless . . . Find Us Online: @LandscapeCDM @LCDBMMagazine @Landscape Contract / Design, Build, Maintain *Here are a few websites to start you on your way to being an infrastructure aficionado: http://www.nlc.org/topics/infrastructure https://asla.org/transportation.aspx http://www.esri.com/events/seminars/public-infrastructure#sthash.pzJmNsVz.dpbs https://www.transportation.org https://wbef.rics.org/wbef/the-summit/

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain - FEB 2018