Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain

JAN 2018

LC/DBM provides landscape contractors with Educational, Imaginative and Practical information about their business, their employees, their machines and their projects.

Issue link: http://landscapecontractor.epubxp.com/i/923093

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 71

6 LC DBM George Schmok Publisher / Editor-in-Chief gschmok@landscapeonline.com Mike Dahl Editor mdahl@landscapeonline.com Alli Rael Assistant Editor / Education arael@landscapeonline.com Amy Wells Assistant Editor awells@landscapeonline.com Greg Frank Assistant Editor gfrank@landscapeonline.com Editorial Contributors Melissa Klingberg, Carolinas Irrigation Association; Terry Delany, Contracting Business Consultant; Rebecca Hughes, Natural Paving USA; Derek Premac, SRF Fence & Supply Co.; Dr. Jacqueline A. Soule; Lauren LaMorte, Trow and Holden; Russ Beardsley, Borrowed Ground; Phil May, Phil May Landscape Architect; Rosalie Taormino, TDH Landscaping; Joe Cugliotta, J.Cugliotta Landscape Nursery; Carl Vella, Vella & Associates; Chad Corley, The QUIKRETE Companies; Gerri Hansen, Allan Block; Cielo Sichi, Landfour Landscape; Jeff Allen, Jeff Allen Landscape Architecture; Matthew Giampietro, Waterfalls Fountains & Gardens; Karina Johnson, Barnum Gate Services; Nicola Salvage, Alec Gunn Group, Inc.; Erin McCracken, Archiverde; Tony Ignacio, Environmental Forms; Jeff Lindfors, LPO Inc.; Koye Brown, The Garden Artist; Barb Foster, Aesthetic Metals; Connie Goldade, Community Design + Architecture; Jeffrey Smith, Daedalus Design Group; Keith Bigelow, Bigelow Design; Chris Gent, Urban Landscape Collaborative; Marsha Wyly, Wyly Landscape Architecture; Jennifer Brown, Mink's Outdoor Professionals; Jennifer Glass Renta, Glass-Renta, Inc.; Logan McKay, Pacific Style Landscapes Associate Editors Horticulture Lori Pullman Ornamental Horticulture, Orange Coast College Irrigation Dennis Pittenger Area Environmental Horticulturist, University of California, Riverside Pesticides James A. Bethke Nursery and Floriculture Advisor, University of California Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Matt Henderson mhenderson@landscapeonline.com Jason Seaberg jseaberg@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com Landscape Communications, Inc. Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Circulation/Fulfillment Francisco Alvarez Grace Bennett David Ibriham Ana Linares Tanner Maddox Chase Reed Calvin Scott Contract Fulfillment Coordinator/Jr. Graphic Designer Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com Volume 21, No. 01 • www.landscapeonline.com Psalm 42:2 … My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God? Landscape Contractor Design Build Maintain and/or the publisher is a member of or financially supports the following associations: American Planning Association • California Landscape Contractors Association • International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions • American Society of Landscape Architects • National Recreation and Parks Association • International Dark Sky Association• International Association of Lighting Designers • Irrigation Association • Association of Professional Landscape Designers • National Parks Conservation Association • Turf Producers International • National Trust for Historic Preservation • Illuminating Engineering Society • International Erosion Control Association • International Society of Arboriculture• Landscape Architecture Foundation • CLASS Fund • National Wildlife Federation • Sierra Club • Arbor Day Foundation • Smithsonian • The Nature Conservancy Welcome 2018! George Schmok, Publisher LC DBMS "...if you are serious about growing your business this is going to be the year to get'er done." Above To find highly qualified employees in today's disruptive and competitive job-hunting environ- ment, recruitment listings need to be strategically designed to really get noticed, by the right people, like these recent Horticulture grads from Kansas State University. Welcome to 2018! I guess this is the year that the 21st century becomes an adult . . . And as an adult, it is time to step up and start to produce. So right on cue it looks like this year is going to be a strong year for the landscape trades. Judging from the trade shows at the end of the year, the rising stock market and the volume and growth in building permits and construction starts, the feeling out there is that construction, and business in general, is going to show solid signs of growth throughout, at least, the next couple of years. So now is the time to start planning for that growth. That's one reason why we have a feature in this issue about hiring quality personnel (see page 46). Yep . . . It is definitely time to polish off the marketing pieces, paint your old equipment (make sure your logo is both prominent and crisp looking), tighten those nuts and bolts, finish off the training programs, get your help wanted ads out there and start cranking out those bids. Whether it be new or existing residential, commercial properties, facilities, municipal works or those funky side projects, there is going to be a lot of work out there for the go-getter. Quality labor is going to be tight and spring is right around the corner, but if you are serious about growing your business this is going to be the year to get'er done. So start now . . . And we'll see you out and about in the landscape . . . God Bless! Find Us Online: @LandscapeCDM @LCDBMMagazine @Landscape Contract / Design, Build, Maintain

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain - JAN 2018