Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain

NOV 2017

LC/DBM provides landscape contractors with Educational, Imaginative and Practical information about their business, their employees, their machines and their projects.

Issue link: http://landscapecontractor.epubxp.com/i/896344

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 55

6 LC DBM Find Us Online: @LandscapeComm @landscapeonline @LandscapeOnline.com George Schmok Publisher / Editor-in-Chief gschmok@landscapeonline.com Mike Dahl Editor mdahl@landscapeonline.com Alli Rael Assistant Editor / Education arael@landscapeonline.com Editorial Contributors John Byrne, The Patio Company; A.J. Coleman, McKay Landscape Lighting; Anthony Bogdanovich, Imagine Lighting; Dave Underwood, Chesapeake Irrigation and Lighting; Kayli Hanely, Ewing Irrigation and Landscape Supply; Renee Schmitz, The Outdoor GreatRoom Company; Ajay Gupta, Housewarmings Outdoor; Amanda Goossen and Dawson Fearnow, MMPR Marketing for Bobé Water and Fire; Stacie Callaghan, Gachina Landscape Management Associate Editors Horticulture Lori Pullman Ornamental Horticulture, Orange Coast College Irrigation Dennis Pittenger Area Environmental Horticulturist, University of California, Riverside Pesticides James A. Bethke Nursery and Floriculture Advisor, University of California Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Matt Henderson mhenderson@landscapeonline.com Jason Seaberg jseaberg@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com Landscape Communications, Inc. Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Circulation / Fulfillment Ana Linares alinares@landscapeonline.com Calvin Scott cscott@landscapeonline.com Contract Fulfillment Coordinator Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com Volume 20, No. 11 • www.landscapeonline.com Romans 5:1 … Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. Landscape Contractor Design Build Maintain and/or the publisher is a member of or financially supports the following associations: American Planning Association • California Landscape Contractors Association • International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions • American Society of Landscape Architects • National Recreation and Parks Association • International Dark Sky Association• International Association of Lighting Designers • Irrigation Association• Association of Professional Landscape Designers • National Parks Conservation Association • Turf Producers International • National Trust for Historic Preservation • Illuminating Engineering Society • International Erosion Control Association• International Society of Arboriculture• Landscape Architecture Foundation• CLASS Fund • National Wildlife Federation• Sierra Club• Arbor Day Foundation • Smithsonian• The Nature Conservancy So Much to Be Thankful For! George Schmok, Publisher LC DBMS Top This shot shows how the fires jumped the horse trail and approached the homes on the hill to the left. Notice the one house in the middle who kept their backyard manicured and fire safe. Middle A firefighter throws water at the fire in my backyard. Bottom A surreal scene as horses were led down a normally very busy street away from the approaching firestorm. Thanksgiving is upon us and this year, and almost more than any other year in the past, I personally have a lot to be thankful for. As you can see from the pictures, we were on the front lines of the firestorm that hit California in October. First of all I am thankful for not being in the Wine Country fires where cities like Santa Rosa were absolutely devastated. Thousands of structures were lost in those Northern California fires whipped by winds blowing upwards of 70 mph. I think the whole country felt some of the pain experienced by those residents as we watched the video of entire housing tracks reduced to ash. Our thoughts, prayers and helping hands have helped to ease some of that pain, but certainly not all. For us in Southern California, we were relatively lucky. In my area we only lost 24 structures, one of those being about 400 yards from my house. We actually had the fire in our backyard with winds blowing about 35 mph. Two things saved us . . . First, of course, were the Fire Departments that came from all throughout the region. In my immediate neighborhood we had 20 homes threatened, and all but one were saved from structural damage by the myriad of first responders putting their lives on the line for a bunch of strangers. Our second line of defense was prevention. While I don't see how some of the neighborhoods in NorCal could have been saved by landscape alterations with the winds being as severe as they were, in our neighborhood we spend a great deal of attention on keeping the weeds and burnable materials as low as possible. In the picture with the melted fence (it melted but did not catch fire . . . whew) that hillside was kept trimmed (Thanks Las Flores Landscapes!) and while the fire raced from right to left, its impact and spread was lessened by the lack of fuel. That's what saved our house. So as you sit down for your Thanksgiving celebration, remember those who no longer have a house to celebrate in, and remember that while we all like to be close to nature, you, as landscape contractors, need to remind your clients that the best way to prevent loss in a wildfire is to play prevent defense well before the fire season starts. God Bless . . . .

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain - NOV 2017