Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain

JUL 2017

LC/DBM provides landscape contractors with Educational, Imaginative and Practical information about their business, their employees, their machines and their projects.

Issue link: http://landscapecontractor.epubxp.com/i/847465

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 55

6 LC DBM Coming to you from Calgary, Alberta, Canada, where the Schmoks are getting together for a family reunion, going to the Calgary Stampede, celebrating Canada's 150th birthday and enjoying a land of abundant . . . Water. Being a California boy it makes me jealous. I mean, just last year washing your car was almost a felony. Of course now the drought is "over" in California, but that only means the next drought is on its way. Heaven forbid, though, that we put a priority on enhancing the water storage and delivery capabilities of the state . . . No . . . We need a super fast train linking SoCal with NorCal way more than we need water. When Trump pulled us (or should I say 'the' U.S.) out of the Paris Climate Accord* the great governor of California (and several other governors and mayors across the nation) said they were going to honor the accord regardless . . . Oh yeah . . . Except of course, the part about having to pay into the international fund. So does that mean they actually agree with PT that the concept is cool, but the deal was bad? After all, the accord was really more of a code, which anyone familiar with the Pirates of the Caribbean knows that it means it's really more like guidelines . . . Whatever you feel about the climate, one thing is for certain . . . America is by far the world leader in clean air and clean water technology (Flint, Michigan, aside) and the members of the original Green Industry . . . That's You . . . Are by far the most conscientious users of water on the planet. Every day this industry/profession takes strides to use water as efficiently as possible to enhance the environment. Every day something else is learned about the landscape that saves or optimizes this precious resource. You are the best at applying it precisely, filtering it naturally, percolating it evenly, capturing it, reusing it to reduce carbon and create oxygen, decorating it, and even using its sound as an advantage over the hustle and bustle of everyday life. So as summer kicks into high gear, and the skiing continues at Mammoth Mountain, grab a cool glass of water and guzzle it, knowing that you are a part of the solution to clean water, your efforts are valiant and your rewards are seen on the faces of everyone out there enjoying the landscape . . . Find Us Online: @LandscapeComm @landscapeonline @LandscapeOnline.com George Schmok Publisher / Editor-in-Chief gschmok@landscapeonline.com Mike Dahl Editor mdahl@landscapeonline.com Alli Rael Assistant Editor / Education arael@landscapeonline.com Andrew Soto Assistant Editor / Associations asoto@landscapeonline.com Editorial Contributors Diane Salks, Riverview Tree and Landscaping; Roger Krost, Conspec; Patrick Wells, Piedmont Landscape Management; Rosalie Taormino, Russ Irvin, TDH Landscaping; Jeff Howe, Windridge Landscaping; Wes Maggard, V.I.P. Landscape; Brooke Inzerella, Horticare Landscape Company; Rex McCaskill, Pond Professors; Tucker Beeninga, Next to Nature Landscape Design; Matthew Giampietro, Waterfalls Fountains & Gardens Inc.; Scott Conner, Scott Conner Landscape; Cameron Marsala, Camelot Landscaping & Stoneworks; Dave White, Glacier View Landscape & Design Inc.; Jay Roche, Natural Surroundings; Joe Raboine, Belgard; Lisa Busman, Media Brokers International Associate Editors Erosion Russ Adsit, FASLA Horticulture Lori Pullman Ornamental Horticulture, Orange Coast College Irrigation Dennis Pittenger Area Environmental Horticulturist, University of California, Riverside Pesticides James A. Bethke Nursery and Floriculture Advisor, University of California Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Senior Graphic Designer Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Matt Henderson mhenderson@landscapeonline.com Jason Seaberg jseaberg@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com Landscape Communications, Inc. Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Director of Data Development Frank Vazquez fvazquez@landscapeonline.com Circulation / Fulfillment Ana Linares alinares@landscapeonline.com Kosol Chim kchim@landscapeonline.com Calvin Scott cscott@landscapeonline.com Contract Fulfillment Coordinator Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com Volume 20, No. 07 • www.landscapeonline.com Psalm 90:12 … "Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom. " Landscape Contractor Design Build Maintain and/or the publisher is a member of or financially supports the following associations: American Planning Association • California Landscape Contractors Association • International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions • American Society of Landscape Architects • National Recreation and Parks Association • International Dark Sky Association• International Association of Lighting Designers • Irrigation Association• Association of Professional Landscape Designers • National Parks Conservation Association • Turf Producers International • National Trust for Historic Preservation • Illuminating Engineering Society • International Erosion Control Association• International Society of Arboriculture• Landscape Architecture Foundation• CLASS Fund • National Wildlife Federation• Sierra Club• Arbor Day Foundation • Smithsonian• The Nature Conservancy PHOTO: RICK SIMONS George Schmok, Publisher LC DBM " . . . America is by far the leader in clean air and clean water technology. . . " PUBLISHER'S LETTER *When President Trump announced we were pulling out of the Paris climate accord, we sent surveys to a random list of landscape architects. We received more than 100 replies in a matter of hours. Visit LandscapeOnline.com and type in "Paris Accord" in the article search to view the entire, unedited set of responses. Gotta Love the Water . . . Especially in the Land Escaper on the lee side of Catalina Island, where this day, in addition to seeing numerous whales and dolphins, we landed Barracuda, Bass, Sheepsheads, Halibut, Pufferfish and the elusive Pacific Yellowtail! Cool…Cool...Water

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain - JUL 2017