Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain

APR 2017

LC/DBM provides landscape contractors with Educational, Imaginative and Practical information about their business, their employees, their machines and their projects.

Issue link: http://landscapecontractor.epubxp.com/i/808221

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 7 of 63

8 LC DBM Seeing Through the Fog The other day I took my boat "Land Escaper" fish- ing out of Newport Harbor in California. When we first left the harbor there was a marine layer that left visibility at about a half a mile. That's not optimal, but it was just before noon and usually the marine layer burns off in the afternoon, so off we went in search of the elusive mako shark. There we were, trolling around and moving farther and farther south and away from shore. Singularly focused on the prospect of finding a 100-pound mako, little did we notice the skies were not clearing up; instead, the fog was rolling in . . . All of a sudden we were almost 30 miles from the harbor and visibility had dropped to 100 feet. Talk about being alone in the wilderness. There is little I have experienced that causes the same sense of claustrophobia as being trapped in a blanket of fog with no sense of north or south, east or west. Thank God for radar and GPS, as even a compass was rendered practically useless. With GPS we were able to plot a course straight at the harbor entrance, and with radar we were able to travel at about 8-10 knots. Still, we could not tell if there were lobster traps, floating logs or if there was any flotsam or jetsam in our path. At one point another boat came within 100 feet. I saw him on the radar, but had no idea if he saw me, so we had to slow down and lay on the horn . . . Needless to say, it was a tense three-hour cruise back to the harbor. When we entered between two mile-long boulder jetties we literally could not see either side. Without the radar and GPS we could have easily crashed into the other boat, run aground trying to follow a blind compass heading, or for that matter we might still be out there cruising in at a mile or two knots an hour . . . It caused me to contemplate how far technology has taken us in such a short time. I mean, radar was only discovered during World War II and reliable GPS is about a decade old. Can you imagine being Christopher Columbus, or even Charles Lind - berg plotting course with only a clock and a compass? OK . . . Fishing in the fog may be a little off topic, but today you are reading the April "Lighting" issue. So, speaking about technology, light bulbs have only been around for 138 years. Before that it was fire . . . A few years ago, low-voltage MR- 16 lamps were state-of-the-art. Now we have converters that are more efficient and only usable with LEDs. At the ASLA show in New Orleans I saw a manufac - turer who had built an area light pole/fixture combination that I believe was solar enhanced, had motion sensors, phone recharging outlets, public Wi-Fi, was con - nected to a central command center, used LED 50,000 hour bulbs and I think had an emergency 911 beacon attached as well. Today, from your boat in the fog, you can pretty much change the color, brightness, directions and timing of your entire lighting system, whether that be a commercial, industrial, municipal or residential property, hundreds, if not thousands of miles away. Yep, technology is cool and let me say . . . The future is looking less foggy and getting brighter every day . . . Find Us Online: @LandscapeComm @landscapeonline @LandscapeOnline.com George Schmok Publisher / Editor-in-Chief gschmok@landscapeonline.com Mike Dahl Editor mdahl@landscapeonline.com Alli Rael Assistant Editor / Education arael@landscapeonline.com Michael Miyamoto Assistant Editor / Economics mmiyamoto@landscapeonline.com Andrew Soto Assistant Editor / Associations asoto@landscapeonline.com Editorial Contributors Cole Wdowiak, Desert Foothills Landscape; Steve Gold, Brilliance LED; Tom Crowley, Paradise Landscape Lighting; Jerry McKay, McKay Landscape Lighting; Michael Gotowala, Preferred Properties Landscaping; Scott Berry, Evergreen Hardscaping; John Garner, Southern Lights of Raleigh; Kevin McRae, K2 Services, Inc.; Jen Miller, Ken Owen, Nature's Expressions; Jon Kidder, Jon's Masonry & Landscape, Inc.; Jim Homan, Lighting Innovations Inc.; Daniel Mazawa, Madrone Landscapes; Michael Sestak, Sestak Lighting Design; Chad Corley, Pavestone; Gil Tapia, Gratr Landscapes Associate Editors Erosion Russ Adsit, FASLA Horticulture Lori Pullman Ornamental Horticulture, Orange Coast College Irrigation Dennis Pittenger Area Environmental Horticulturist, University of California, Riverside Pesticides James A. Bethke Nursery and Floriculture Advisor, University of California Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Graphic Designers Matthew Medeiros mmedeiros@landscapeonline.com Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Matt Henderson mhenderson@landscapeonline.com Jason Seaberg jseaberg@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com Sales Support Liaison Raul Abarca rabarca@landscapeonline.com Landscape Communications, Inc. Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Circulation / Fulfillment Ana Linares alinares@landscapeonline.com Kosol Chim kchim@landscapeonline.com Lana Foley lfoley@landscapeonline.com Cameron Gillespie cgillespie@landscapeonline.com Contract Fulfillment Coordinator Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com Volume 20, No. 04 • www.landscapeonline.com Psalm 37:6-7 … Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him; do not fret when men succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes. Landscape Contractor Design Build Maintain and/or the publisher is a member of or financially supports the following associations: American Planning Association • California Landscape Contractors Association • International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions • American Society of Landscape Architects • National Recreation and Parks Association • International Dark Sky Association• International Association of Lighting Designers • Irrigation Association• Association of Professional Landscape Designers • National Parks Conservation Association • Turf Producers International • National Trust for Historic Preservation • Illuminating Engineering Society • International Erosion Control Association• International Society of Arboriculture• Landscape Architecture Foundation• CLASS Fund • National Wildlife Federation• Sierra Club• Arbor Day Foundation • Smithsonian• The Nature Conservancy T PHOTO: GEORGE SCHMOK George Schmok, Publisher LC DBM God Bless . . . COMMENTARY

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain - APR 2017