Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain

MAR 2017

LC/DBM provides landscape contractors with Educational, Imaginative and Practical information about their business, their employees, their machines and their projects.

Issue link: http://landscapecontractor.epubxp.com/i/795621

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 79

6 LC DBM The Natural Nature of Nature . . . Coming to you from Mammoth Mountain in the Sierra Nevada where the picture to the left shows a three-story condo complex almost buried in snow. Over the past several years California has been locked in another drought only to have it be almost completely relieved in a matter of weeks. Many of you have seen the news of Oroville Dam bursting its seams and flood waters raging. They say even more rain and snow is set to fall later this week (today is 2/23/17). But here's the rub . . . With almost every reservoir at or near capacity there is more than 20 feet of snow resting on the 400 mile long mountain range. This snow is going to melt, soon, and when it does the reservoirs will be forced to release billions, if not trillions of gallons of water. Much of that water will be released in an emergen - cy setting, rushing out to the sea and taking who knows how much sediment and property with it. So, California, one of the most politically messed up states in the nation, with the Sierra Club advocating more for the baby smelt than the farmers, with more focus on the need for a high speed rail system and withdrawing from the nation than meeting the actual needs of the people, has once again ignored history and done nothing in the drought years to work on enhancing the state's water storage systems. Yep, for now the drought is over. It's time to water your lawn, wash your cars and build as much housing as possible, but heaven forbid we build another dam or divert water to the Colorado River system (where Lake Mead is still 100+ feet below capacity). Is it global warming? Is it the end of drought forever? Of course not, it's as predictable as the sun rising in the east. The rains come as the sea water cools. Then El Niño heats up the southern waters again, and drought takes over, until that pass - es and the water cools and then you can expect the rains to come again. This process takes between 7-10 years. And right about the time the drought becomes evident again, the politi - cians get involved and the landscape industry gets shut down with talk of doom and gloom and drought forever . . . It's the same in Texas and Georgia where we are always writing about the looming drought only to see them flooded out and all thought of the need for water to be captured dis - appears. The good news is that the landscape industry, the original 'Green' industry, has learned many lessons from the periods of no water, lessons that should be built upon and not thrown away in these times of water aplenty. The rains won't last and we can plan for that. But the droughts won't last either and we should build our landscapes with that in mind as well. Find Us Online: @LandscapeComm @landscapeonline @LandscapeOnline.com George Schmok Publisher / Editor-in-Chief gschmok@landscapeonline.com Mike Dahl Editor mdahl@landscapeonline.com Alli Rael Assistant Editor / Education arael@landscapeonline.com Michael Miyamoto Assistant Editor / Economics mmiyamoto@landscapeonline.com Andrew Soto Assistant Editor / Associations asoto@landscapeonline.com Editorial Contributors Kobi Dan, Jessica Barrera, Go Pavers; Chad Corley, Pavestone; Mark Rhodus, Two Brothers Brick Paving; Cheri Stringer, TLC Gardens; Jerry Ponzo, NexxSteel; Cameron Morgan, Pacific Formliner; Art Burkhart, Old Carolina Brick Company; Mary Liljequist, Earthly Delights Landscape Design; David Aquilina, Strategic Storyteller; Reginald Durant, Back to Natives Restoration; Randy Hays, European Paving Designs Associate Editors Erosion Russ Adsit, FASLA Horticulture Lori Pullman Ornamental Horticulture, Orange Coast College Irrigation Dennis Pittenger Area Environmental Horticulturist, University of California, Riverside Pesticides James A. Bethke Nursery and Floriculture Advisor, University of California Art Director Nicole Miller nmiller@landscapeonline.com Graphic Designers Matthew Medeiros mmedeiros@landscapeonline.com Dylan Brinkley dbrinkley@landscapeonline.com Advertising/Marketing 714-979-LASN (5276) x113 • 714-979-3543 (Fax) Print Advertising Sales Matt Henderson mhenderson@landscapeonline.com Jason Seaberg jseaberg@landscapeonline.com Clint Phipps cphipps@landscapeonline.com Sales Support Liaison Raul Abarca rabarca@landscapeonline.com Landscape Communications, Inc. Executive Administration Amy Deane adeane@landscapeonline.com Office Administration Cynthia McCarthy cmccarthy@landscapeonline.com IT & Graphic Design Technician Jerry Short jshort@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Manager Margot Boyer mboyer@landscapeonline.com Trade Show Sales & Marketing Representative Nathan Schmok nschmok@landscapeonline.com Circulation / Fulfillment Ana Linares alinares@landscapeonline.com Kosol Chim kchim@landscapeonline.com Carolyn Duenas cduenas@landscapeonline.com Lana Foley lfoley@landscapeonline.com Angie Ramirez aramirez@landscapeonline.com Cameron Gillespie cgillespie@landscapeonline.com Contract Fulfillment Coordinator Ryan Moore rmoore@landscapeonline.com Warehouse & Facilities Manager Javier Miranda jmiranda@landscapeonline.com Volume 20, No. 03 • www.landscapeonline.com Proverbs 14:23 … "All hard work brings a profit, but mere talk leads only to poverty." Landscape Contractor Design Build Maintain and/or the publisher is a member of or financially supports the following associations: American Planning Association • California Landscape Contractors Association • International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions • American Society of Landscape Architects • National Recreation and Parks Association • International Dark Sky Association• International Association of Lighting Designers • Irrigation Association• Association of Professional Landscape Designers • National Parks Conservation Association • Turf Producers International • National Trust for Historic Preservation • Illuminating Engineering Society • International Erosion Control Association• International Society of Arboriculture• Landscape Architecture Foundation• CLASS Fund • National Wildlife Federation• Sierra Club• Arbor Day Foundation • Smithsonian• The Nature Conservancy C ". . . it's as predictable as the sun rising in the east." PHOTO: GEORGE SCHMOK George Schmok, Publisher LC DBM God Bless . . . COMMENTARY

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Landscape Contractor / Design Build Maintain - MAR 2017